Chimdiadi Nzurumike.

Edited by Patrick Okoruwa and Uchelue Boniface.

The School of Nursing (SON), University of Nigeria Teaching Hospital, Enugu, held her capping ceremony to mark the induction and matriculation of the set of 2022 students.

The event took place on 22nd July 2023, at the School of Nursing Auditorium UNTH, Enugu, and was attended by prominent figures from within the hospital and the general public.

The Chairman of the occasion, Chief Vinmartin Obiorah Ilo (Ebubedike) in his opening remark, congratulated the students and advised them to remember their purpose, which is to become exceptional nurses whose priority is not about making money but saving lives. The veteran broadcaster whose daughter was among the matriculants, further urged them to ” be a nurse that will get feedback of gratitude from the patients you have nursed”

Associate Prof. B. Nwatu, making a speech on behalf of the Chief Medical Director, Prof.Obinna Onodugo

The Deputy Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee, (D-C(MAC), Emergency Medicine and Out- patient, Associate Prof. Brenda C. Nwatu who represented the Chief Medical Director, Prof. Obinna Onodugo, showered praises on the students for the feat they had achieved. She encouraged the matriculants to draw inspiration from Prof.Wole Soyinka’s book, “Set Forth at Dawn” by starting early, working hard, and building a solid foundation for success.
She reminded the inductees to be grateful to their parents and teachers for their sacrifice and the knowledge they have impacted on them, bearing in mind to practice with kindness and compassion which is the bedrock of their profession.

On the other hand, the special guest of the occasion, Honourable Walter Orji urged the students to take initiatives and not wait for anyone to make a difference in the world. He highlighted the importance of nurses in saving lives, emphasizing the valuable role they play in the society.
The Deputy Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee, (D-CMAC), Radiology and Laboratory sciences, Prof. Thessy Nwagha, represented the Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee (CMAC) Prof. E.O Valentine Ugwu.

Mrs E.J.Okorochukwu AG. Principal, school of Nursing, UNTH, Enugu, giving her welcome address

In her own address, the Ag Principal of the School,
Mrs. E.J. Okorochukwu congratulated the graduands for passing their final qualifying examination with the support of their lecturers, families, and friends. She emphasized that their qualifications reflect the ambition, passion, and tenacity, empowering them to make a
positive impact on society as nursing professionals. Mrs. Okorochukwu encouraged the graduates to stay connected through the SON UNTH Alumni Platform.

She noted that the School of Nursing, UNTH, has achieved remarkable milestones, maintaining a 100% pass rate in the N&MCN qualifying examination. The school has also implemented computer-based tests and offer clinical training to other schools of Nursing. The generous support from the SON UNTH alumni, both in Nigeria and abroad, has contributed to the success story of the school.

A cross section of the graduands

However, she acknowledged that there are still some challenges which includes; the need for affiliation with the university, improving internet connectivity, and providing more hostel accommodation and resources like computers and air conditioners for the CBT Centre.

The highlight of the event was the award of prizes to students who distinguished themselves in their areas of study. Mr. Uchelue Sobechukwu Boniface emerged as the overall best student in their PTS examination. Mr. Uchelue won the award for the best student in Microbiology, English language and was one of the winners in the prestigious Dr. Obioha K. C. Episteme’s prize for the seven (7) courses in first year.

Mr. Boniface Sobechukwu Uchelue receiving the overall best student award from Associate Prof. Brenda Nwatu, CMD’s representative

The other awardees include:
Iheanacho Ogechukwu Cynthia; best in Human Biology
Aneke Mmesoma Rita; best in Behavioural Science, Odukwe Ifeoma Rose Cynthia; best in Primary Health Care and Basic Science, Nze Chigozie Joy who was best in Basic Nursing (Fundamentals of Nursing) and also won the Helen Ndudim Memorial prize of N50, 000 in Fundamental of Nursing, Itodo Rita O.; best in Oral Practical.

Dr. Obioha K.C Episteme’s award to one of the students

Other prize winners in the Dr. Obioha K. C. Episteme’s prize category for the seven (7) courses (1st year) include:
Odukwe Ifeoma R, Nze Chigozie, Joy Iheanacho, Ogechukwu Cynthia, Okparaji Flora Akunne, Adinde Precious C and Ikansi Kosisochukwu Esther.

Dr. Obioha in his remarks said that the award is to encourage the academic achievements of the students. He also promised to include the inductees in next year’s awards.

Successful PTS students


Cultural dance by the Nursing students